This recreated red barn welcomes visitors at the entrance to Champoeg State Heritage Area. Built on the site of the Donald Manson home and adjacent to the 1860s kitchen garden, it contains an interpretive exhibit that tells the rich natural and cultural history of Champoeg. The Visitor Center also has a book and gift shop, auditorium, park offices and restrooms.
Beginning with the native Kalapuya people, the influx of French fur trappers in the early 1800s and Oregon Trail settlers after the 1840s, Champoeg was a bustling hub of commerce and transportation until 1861 when the Willamette River flooded and washed away the town. This interactive interpretive exhibit showcases the different cultures and changing face of Champoeg over the last 200 + years.
Open year-round inside the Visitor Center, browse a unique collection of books that relates to Champoeg, Oregon and natural history as well as books on cooking, birding, gardening and travel. The store also offers a selection of Champoeg apparel, disc golf supplies, bicycle helmets, toys, snacks and cold drinks. A selection of arrowheads, pioneer-related merchandise and pioneer clothing is also available. Members of the Friends of Historic Champoeg receive a 15 percent discount on purchases. Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. June through September; hours vary during the rest of the year but the store is closed Thanksgiving and Christmas Day. Call the Visitor Center, (503) 678-1251 x 221, for off-season hours and information.